Being vegan or vegetarian is really pretty easy, but there are certain gotchas that you have to watch out for. One of those hidden gotchas is that a lot of sugar – especially white sugar – is not vegan or even vegetarian. (For our purposes, we are using ‘vegan’ to mean “contains no animal products and no animal had to die for the product to be produced”, and ‘vegetarian’ to mean “no animal had to die for the product to be produced”, but may contain animal products such as milk or eggs.) So, back to sugar: what on earth isn’t vegetarian or vegan about sugar? Here’s what.