Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the supermarket, meet Meat Glue. Just what is Meat Glue? Meat Glue’s chemical name is transglutaminase, and it is sold under the brand names Activa and Moo Glue.
Gluten Alert! Many Vinegars are NOT Gluten-Free! Plus Vegan, Gluten-Free Salt and Vinegar Potato Chip Recipe!
Some vinegars are distilled straight from wheat or barley, while others are distilled from sources such as corn, grapes and apples.
The beginning of winter is often a time of celebration, as we chase away the gloom with eating, drinking, and socializing. Some of us opt for a more “hygge” approach and like to cuddle up by the fire alone, or with someone we love, wrapped in a cozy blanket. A good vegan beer or wine is perfect for either scenario.
Following a tight budget or looking to get the most food you can for your money? Want to eat healthy while you’re spending frugally? There are many ways you can eat great while keeping to a budget or when you simply don’t feel like spending hundreds of dollars every week on groceries.
Why are we posting about humane cheese on a vegan site? Because we are so thrilled to discover a small, slaughter-free dairy farm that is dedicated to providing a wonderful life to their cows, treating their cows as family pets, never slaughtering them – male or female – and who…
Sometimes it can be difficult to follow a perfect diet. Even for those who know the importance of a pure organic diet of whole foods, it can be difficult to maintain that during times that are busier than normal. When a busy schedule kicks in, the need for convenience can take over. Luckily, you don’t have to sacrifice health for convenience.
Vegan and gluten-free cheese has come a long way. Gone are the days of unpalatable soy cheeses with crumbly or rubbery textures. Not only are delicious every day vegan cheeses available, but so are artisan vegan cheeses such as those made by vegan cheese company Kite Hill.
We love our vegan and gluten-free cheese, especially when it’s non-GMO. Parmela’s Creamery, which started out with their signature product, parmesan-style cheese, will not disappoint. Their vegan cheeses are fermented like regular dairy cheese, offering a whole new vegan cheese experience.
Natural Foods Expo West has come and gone in the city of Anaheim, and it did not disappoint. This yearly conference is a who’s who of natural foods and it did not disappoint this year. From cashew ice cream, to coconut fake bacon, to the finest organic and vegan juice cleanses, the offerings were delicious and bountiful. One product that stood out is the gluten-free, vegan meat called Neat.
Rejuvelac is a fermented liquid that is the perfect culturing agent to make vegan cheeses. Here is vegan cheesemaker Miyoko Schinner’s recipe for rejuvelac.
While we normally focus on vegan and gluten free meals, books, and food products, it can be challenging to find other consumables that are both vegan and gluten-free. For instance, what do you get to cheer up your favorite vegan and gluten-free loved one who is ill? We have all the products you need to put together a vegan and gluten free cold and flu kit that will put a smile on anyone’s face.
You can make your own vegan parmesan alternative! Known as Poor Man’s Parmesan or Pangritata, it’s quick, delicious, and easy! Here’s the recipe
It’s that time of year to get in your last minute holiday shopping. As both vegan and gluten free lifestyles are growing in popularity, and necessity, so are new products that appeal to both worlds. Vegan and gluten free sweets and treats are now increasing in popularity and make an excellent stocking stuffer.
Looking for a Christmas gift for that tough-to-shop-for vegan? Vegan chef and YouTube show host Vegan Zombie has teamed up with Conscious Box to create the Vegan Conscious Box for conscious consumers.
Truth in GMO Labeling Law: Who is Supporting and Who is Fighting Laws Requiring Labeling of Genetically Modified Foods such as California’s Prop 37?
All any even slightly health-conscious eater need do to decide if they want to support a GMO (genetically modified organism) truth-in-labeling law such as California’s Prop 37 is to look at the major donors to both sides of the campaign. For example, the major donors for and against California’s Prop 37 GMO truth-in-labeling initiative include…
Do you know what a flax egg is? Us either, until recently. After learning what it it is, it seems like something we should have known about this whole time! When we searched “flax egg,” there were tons of recipes using the vegan and gluten free egg alternative! “What is a flax egg,” you ask? Well it is a vegan binder used in the same way that an egg is used. It can be used in breads, crusts, heavier doughs and other foods where eggs are needed to bind.
Beef Products Inc. (BPI), makers of lean finely textured beef product (LFTB) that has been dubbed “pink slime,” has slapped ABC News and three of its reporters with a $1.2 billion lawsuit. Many have seen the pictures of LFTB making their way around the Internet after it made headlines for being used in fast food restaurants and millions of school lunches, nationwide. BPI is claiming damages, including revenue and job losses, due to ABC’s coverage of LFTB.
Beyond Meat, the revolutionary vegan meat alternative, has announced that the Rocky Mountain region is the newest area to start offering Beyond Meat. Encompassing Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Kansas, the veggie world is abuzz, as vegetarians in those regions make a mad dash for their nearest Whole Foods store.
Julia Child’s 100th Birthday Celebration Week: Today is Julia Child’s Birthday! Vegan and Gluten Free Pea Soup
Today is Julia Child’s 100th birthday! Happy Birthday Julia! Today we are bringing you a vegan, gluten-free version of her famous split pea soup. It is going to be fall before we know it, so time to start gathering delicious recipes such as this one, to get us through the cool evenings. While Julia’s version of this soup contains ham, we are altering the recipe to instead have a dash of liquid smoke to offer a similar smokey taste for which ham is known, but without the actual pig.
One of the biggest obstacles that those who are vegan and gluten-free have to overcome is finding ingredients that are both. Flavor extracts often contain ingredients that are neither vegan (carmine from beetles) or gluten-free (wheat derivatives). This can be tough for those who love to bake, but who need to be sure that their ingredients are safe for them to eat.